Art & Art History
Key: Recommended Database
Oxford Art Online - Dates: 1996 - current
Full text encyclopedia of visual arts from prehistory to present. Includes many links to images.
Art Full Text - Via EBSCO - Dates: 1984 - current
Identifies articles on the visual arts and architecture. Some with links to full text.
Art Retrospective - Via EBSCO - Dates: 1929 - 1984
Identifies older articles on the visual arts and architecture.
ARTbibliographies Modern - Via ProQuest - Dates: 1974 - current
Identifies articles, books, dissertations and exhibition catalogs on art from Impressionism to present.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index - Via ISI Web of Science - Dates: 1975 - current
Identifies articles and cited references in selected arts and humanities journals.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals - Dates: 1934 - current, with selective coverage back to 1741
Identifies articles on architecture and design, history of architecture, city planning.
ARTstor - Dates: Varies
Over 1,000,000 images covering art, architecture,fashion and archeology. Software tools support teaching and research.
including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline. More»
Bibliography of the History of Art - Dates: Varies
World's most comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of Western art from late antiquity to the present.
BHA includes and extends the coverage of two predecessor art indexes, RAA (Répertoire d'Art et d'Archéologie) from 1973 to 1989 and RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art) from 1975 to 1989. More»
AP Images - Dates: 1995-Current
Photo archive containing the Associated Press' photos, most since 1995, and a selection of pictures from their image library.
Visual Resouces Collection Database - Dates: Image database
A database of almost 20,000 images created and maintained locally by the Visual Resources Collection of the Art & Art History Dept
Requires NetID and password for use on and off campus.More»
America: History and Life - Dates: 1964 - current
Articles, book reviews, and dissertations on North American history.
Historical Abstracts - Dates: 1967 - current
Identifies articles and books on history since 1450, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Some links to full text.
JSTOR - Dates: Varies by title from 1800s - 2000s
Full text articles in many disciplines.
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XII. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.collections, however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway. More»
L'Annee Philologique - Via EBSCO - Dates: 1928 - current
Indexes scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations.
LexisNexis Academic - Via LexisNexis - Dates: Varies
Full text articles from newspapers, magazines, selected journals, and reference books.
Search in five major content areas: news, business, legal research, medical and reference. News section includes newspapers and journals; business section has full text company and industry news, including accounting literature, and corporate financial information including 10Ks and annual reports. Legal section includes articles, case law, codes and regulations, international case law, patents, and directories of lawyers and law schools.More»
Project Muse - Dates: 1993 - current
Full text of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
ProQuest Research, Newspapers & Business - Dates: Varies
Identifies articles in journals, magazines and newspapers, many full text. Includes ABI/Inform, Ethnic NewsWatch,GenderWatch
and Alt-Press Watch.More»
Wilson OmniFile - Via EBSCO - Dates: 1982 - current
Identifies articles on many subjects with some full text.
Includes full text from these databases, when available: General Science Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, Index to Legal periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science Index, Readers' Guide Abstracts, Social Sciences Abstracts, and Wilson Business Abstracts. More»
WorldCat - Via FirstSearch - Dates: Updated daily
Identifies and locates books and other materials owned by libraries in the US and internationally.
Use WorldCat to locate materials outside of UR, in all disciplines and formats, or to locate items in specific libraries and research collections. More»