Biology
Biology
Subject Librarian:
Kenn Harper
kharper@library.rochester.edu
585-275-8519 or 585-275-4465
-
Biological Sciences
- Via ProQuest - Dates: 1982 - current
Identifies articles on biomedicine, biotechnology, behavior, ecology, neuroscience, and zoology. Relatively weak in botany.
Covers the literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents. Topics include: Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts 1993-Current Algology Mycology and Protozoology Abstracts (Microbiology C) 1982-Current Animal Behavior Abstracts 1982-Current ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources 1971-Current ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts 1984-Current ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts 1989-Current Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) 1982-Current BioEngineering Abstracts 1993-Current Calcium and Calcified Tissue Abstracts 1982-Current Chemoreception Abstracts 1982-Current CSA Neurosciences Abstracts 1982-Current Ecology Abstracts 1982-Current Entomology Abstracts 1981-Current Genetics Abstracts 1982-Current Health and Safety Science Abstracts 1981-Current Human Genome Abstracts 1982-1995 Immunology Abstracts 1982-Current Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A) 1982-Current Medical and Pharmaceutical Biotechnology Abstracts 1993-Current Nucleic Acids Abstracts 1982-Current Oncogenes and Growth Factors Abstracts 1989-Current Toxicology Abstracts 1981-Current Virology and AIDS Abstracts 1982-Current More»
-
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
- Dates: Current
Full text encyclopedia articles on biology, with links to other resources.
Includes customizable features for classes and individuals.More»
-
Science Citation Index Expanded
- Via ISI Web of Science - Dates: 1898 - current
Identifies research articles and cited references in science, engineering and medicine, with many links to full text.
-
Medline - OVID
- Via Ovid - Dates: 1950 - current
Identifies articles in clinical and basic biomedical research as well as in psychology. Many with links to full text.
Full-text articles are provided by Ovid and may include some articles not available though our regular online journal subscriptions. Provides the easiest interface for precise searching with subject headings and subheadings.More»
-
Medline - PubMed
- Dates: 1950 - current
Identifies articles in clinical and basic biomedical research as well as in psychology, many with links to full text.
Most current version of Medline. May include articles from selectively indexed journals that do not appear in other versions of Medline. Includes access to the molecular sequence databases of the Entrez system. Automatically expands (explodes) subject headings. Truncation turns off this automatic expansion of the hierarchical subject headings.More»
-
Medline - FirstSearch
- Via FirstSearch - Dates: 1965 - current
Identifies articles in clinical and basic biomedical research as well as in psychology. Many with links to full text.
Does not allow full use of Medline indexing. Major advantage is the use of the familiar FirstSearch interface.More»
-
Plant Science
- Via ProQuest - Dates: 1994 - current
Identifies journal articles in botany.
Covers primary research journals on all aspects of scientific plant research, especially on pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, and environmental biology.More»
-
Zoological Record Plus
- Via ProQuest - Dates: 1978 - current
Identifies books, book chapters, and journal articles in zoology.
Does not provide abstracts; however, the indexing is comprehensive and informative.More»
-
AGRICOLA
- Dates: Varies
Identifies journal articles and book chapters on agriculture and allied disciplines, many with links to full text.
Covers publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. Includes a book/serials catalog database and an articles database.More»
-
ScienceDirect
- Dates: Varies
Journals from Elsevier Science. Browse or search tables of contents, abstracts and full text of articles in all disciplines.
Includes the sciences, engineering, humanities, social sciences, and clinical medicine. Full text from 1995 on, except as indicated.More»
-
SciFinder on the Web
- Dates: 1879-current
Identifies articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations in chemistry and medicine, with some links to full text.
Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic and author. Searches Chemical Abstracts and Medline databases simultaneously. Full text is available through ChemPort and SFX technologies. Learn more about SciFinder Scholar . More»
Register with your UR email address to obtain a free password.





