Key: Recommended Database
Capital IQ - Dates: Current
Includes data on public and private companies, M&A/financing transactions, public offerings, corporate executives, and more.
Includes tools for financial statement analysis at the company and industry level. Individual accounts are available to full-time graduate students at the Simon School of Business. Terminals with Capital IQ are available in the Simon School Career Research Center, located at 219 Gleason Hall, and the Simon School IT Lab, located on the 4th floor of Gleason Hall. For questions about individual accounts, please contact Erin Wachowicz at firstname.lastname@example.org. More»
All full-time MBAs and MS students have usernames/passwords; access is otherwise restricted to 3 workstations in the Simon CRC, 4 in the Simon Computing Ctr, and 1 in the Business & Gov't Information Library in Rush Rhees.
Frost & Sullivan - Dates: Varies
Includes technical reports and market analysis on emerging, high-tech and industrial markets in 50 countries.
Includes contains technical reports and market analysis on emerging high-tech and industrial markets in 50 countries.More»
IBISWorld - Dates: Current
Industry research reports; US & Global. Search by keyword or NAICS code. Market size, competitors, forecasts, valuation, & more.
MarketLine Advantage - Dates: Current
Includes industry, company, and country reports. Market size, segmentation, competition, forecasts.
Industries include aerospace and defense, agriculture and forestry, automotive, consumer services, chemicals, construction and real estate, consumer products, energy, utilities, waste management services, financial services, food, beverage, tobacco, machinery, leisure, media, metals and mining, paper and packaging, pharmeceuticals and healthcare, retail, technology, textiles, transportation. More»
Mergent Online - Dates: 1990 - current (financial data); 1996-current (Annual Reports and EDGAR)
Financial data and company descriptions, directory information for U.S. and global public and private companies.
Annual reports and SEC EDGAR filings available for U.S. companies.More»
Mintel Oxygen - Dates: Current
In-depth market research reports. Consumer products focus, with brands/products, some finance and technology. US & Europe.
Each user must create a personal account using a UR email address.
ThomsonOne.com - Dates: 1996 - current
Contains analyst reports from over 500 sources.
Product works exclusively with Internet Explorer browser. See this brief tutorial for other important usage information.
ABI/INFORM Complete - Via ProQuest - Dates: Varies
Articles from academic business journals and business trade publications; country, industry reports, some market data.
Business Source Premier - Via EBSCO - Dates: Varies
Contains articles, company and industry reports, marketing reports, and country reports. Includes Harvard Business Review.
Factiva - Via Factiva - Dates: Varies by publication
Contains articles on business, news, and companies worldwide, current and historical financial quotes, and company profiles.
Improve your search experience in Factiva with the tips in this handout: FactivaSearchTips.pdf
Ad $ Summary - Dates: 2007--
Annual report telling how much companies spent on advertising by media channel; also by brand and media channel. PDF of book.
American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries - Dates: Current
Contains American companies that have substantial overseas operations. Search by country, industry codes, or industry size.
Associations Unlimited - Dates: Current
Directory information on nonprofit organizations in all fields.
Includes international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit organizations and IRS data on U.S. nonprofit organizations.More»
Business Expert Press - Dates: Current
E-textbooks emphasizing real-world examples and applications. ~160 titles covering the gamut of business topics.
Business Monitor International (BMI) Industry Reports - Via ProQuest - Dates: Varies
Includes regional SWOT analysis, market trends, and forecasts for global emerging markets.
Business Plans Handbook - Via Gale Group - Dates: Varies
Includes templates for business plans for start-up companies in a wide range of U.S. industries
Capital Changes Reporter - Via CCH Internet Research Network - Dates: Current
Records stock changes for all U.S. public companies.
Choose "Capital Changes" under All Content after connecting.
CB Insights - Dates: Current
Private company and investor database: deals, financing, M&As. Search by funding round or amount, location, name, industry, etc.
Each user must create a login with a UR email address.
County Business Patterns - Dates: 1998 - Current
Data on US businesses: number of establishments, employees, and payroll; from entire US to ZIP code level, by NAICS or SIC.
Data is annual; some series back to 1993 available online. NAICS and SIC are industry codes. Produced by the US Census Bureau.More»
Directory of Venture Capital and Private Equity Firms - Dates: Current
Over 3000 VC/PE firms; global coverage; search by geography and keyword to quickly identify appropriate funders/employers.
This database provides contact and investment information on 2,300 venture capital and private equity firms including: firm name and address ; phone and fax numbers ; managing partners with their degrees, directorships, and professional background ; satellite offices ; e-mail and web site addresses ; mission statements ; average and minimum investments ; investment criteria/stage preferences ; industry preferences ; portfolio companies ; geographic preferences ; and fund sizes.More»
EconLit - Via EBSCO - Dates: 1969-
EconLit identifies articles, books, working papers and more, covering all aspects of economics. Some full text and links to more.
A tutorial on using EconLit in the EBSCO interface is available on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tT6UEfZaQlkMore»
Entrepreneurship - Via ProQuest - Dates: Current
Contains market reports, articles, business plans, business cases, and sample templates and forms needed by entrepreneurs.
Click the Browse option to access these specific topics: Business Cases; Business Plan Samples; Business Start-Up; Company Profiles; Funding Sources; Guides, Templates and Tools; Legal Issues; Management and Leadership; Marketing and Sales; Operations Management; Profit and Financial Management; Product Development and Management; Special Topics; and Tips and Advice video clips. (whew)More»
Discover all the ways this database can help you at: http://proquest.libguides.com/proquestentrepreneurship
Entrepreneurship Essential Topics - Dates: Current
Readings, reports, & predefined search macros for the most important topics in entrepreneurship: start-up, funding, legal etc.
List of topics: Business Cases; Business Plan Samples; Business Start-Up; Company Profiles; Funding Sources; Guides, Templates and Tools; Legal Issues; Management and Leadership; Marketing and Sales; Operations Management; Profit and Financial Management; Product Development and Management; Special Topics; and Tips and Advice video clips. (whew)More»
FASAB - Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board - Dates: Varies
Includes all accounting statements and standards from FASAB.
FASB - Financial Accounting Standards Board - Dates: Varies
Includes summaries of accounting standards from FASB. Students get complete access from accounting faculty.
Includes summaries of accounting standards from FASB. Students get complete access from accounting faculty. Complete access not sold to libraries.More»
FirstResearch - Via ProQuest - Dates: Varies
Includes industry reports for consumer products, technology, and most U.S. industries.
Foreign Firms Operating in the United States - Dates: Current
Contains non-U.S. firms that have substantial U.S. operations. Search by country, industry codes, or industry size.
Freedonia Industry Reports - Via ProQuest - Dates: Varies
Includes reports for consumer products, manufacturing, health care and more. Includes forecasts. U.S. focus, some global.
GBI Research - Dates: Varies
Includes marketing reports for pharmaceuticals, medical devices, energy, clean technology, and chemicals. Global coverage.
LoginId: rochester; Password: rochester123
Global Financial Data - Dates: Varies
Downloadable datasets of basic economic indicators (exchange & interest rates, commodity prices, CPI, PPI, etc.).
Provides long time series, and various interactive analysis tools. Global coverage is selective: can't guarantee that data will be available for every country. Note! UR does NOT subscribe to the US Stock or Global Stock Database sections.More»
Create a personal login for full functionality.
Hoovers Company Records - Via ProQuest - Dates: Varies
Company facts – financials, competitors, products and operations, key executives.
Industry Surveys - Via NetAdvantage - Dates: Varies
Includes reports for 52 global and U.S. industries. Focuses on mature industries with many public companies.
IntelliConnect was CCH Internet Research Network - Dates: Varies
Comprehensive source for U.S. accounting rules and corporate capital changes; includes full text of the GAAP Guide.
To get to the US Master GAAP Guide, once in the database, click on the Titles A-Z button, then "U." The title will appear, click on it and it will appear as a source on the left. Browse or search as desired.More»
JSTOR Business Collection - Dates: Varies by title from 1800 - 2000s
Historical articles in business, economics, accounting, finance, marketing and operations research.
Key Business Ratios (Dun & Bradstreet) - Dates: Rolling 3 years of data
Contains financial ratios for industries and services, arranged by NAICS and SIC industry codes.
LexisNexis Academic - Via LexisNexis - Dates: Varies
Full text articles from newspapers, magazines, selected journals, and reference books.
Search in five major content areas: news, business, legal research, medical and reference. News section includes newspapers and journals; business section has full text company and industry news, including accounting literature, and corporate financial information including 10Ks and annual reports. Legal section includes articles, case law, codes and regulations, international case law, patents, and directories of lawyers and law schools.More»
Mergent Annual Report Collection - Dates: Varies
Full text, historical annual reports from companies all over the world. Includes companies no longer in business.
Mergent Intellect - Dates: Current
Directory, description, executives, key financials for 85 million+ public and private companies worldwide; equivalent to Hoovers.
Approximately the content of Mergent Online (public companies worldwide) plus Million Dollar Database (private companies worldwide), under a different search interface. Useful for quickly and easily making/exporting target lists. More»
Mergent InvestorEdge - Dates: Current
Investment research tool; buy-sell-hold recommendations; industry research and bond reports. Think ValueLine with more companies.
Million Dollar Database - Dates: Current
Directory of private companies, global coverage.
Now part of Mergent Online; choose Private Company search boxes in the Mergent search screen.
Morningstar Library Edition - Dates: Varies
Data for 20,000 mutual funds and stocks. Includes investment reports for funds and stocks. Allows the user to create portfolios.
Data for 20,000 mutual funds and stocks. Includes investment reports for funds and stocks. Allows the user to create portfolios. More»
NBER Working Papers - Dates: Novermber 1994 - current
Full text of National Bureau of Economic Research working papers.
NetAdvantage - Dates: Varies
Industry and company reports and data. Includes “Industry Surveys”.
Data includes company stocks, market stock indexes including S&P500, and equity and fixed income funds. More»
New York Stock Exchange Guide - Via CCH Internet Research Network - Dates: Current
Comprehensive information including listed securities, rules, admission guidelines...
board of directors, and other laws regulating the exchange.More»
Each user must create a personal login using a UR email address. Then click "Exchanges and SROs" under All Content, then NYSE.
New York Times - Via LexisNexis - Dates: 1980 - current
Full text articles published in the New York Times.
Includes international, national and New York regional news, in addition to business, science, medicine, arts, sports and lifestyle news.
Some issues for 1953, 1962-1963, 1965, 1978 were never published due to pressman's strikes. No Sunday issue was published until April 21, 1861.More»
Oxford Scholarship Online - Economics and Finance - Dates: Varies
Electronic versions of recent books from Oxford University Press, in all areas of economics.
Palgrave Dictionary of Economics - Dates: Varies
Revised and expanded edition of the 1998 print dictionary.
Plunkett Research - Dates: Current
Industry reports for a wide range of topics. Ex: advertising, consulting, investment banking, green tech, energy, logistics.
Prendismo - Dates: Current
Brief video clips of business people talking about management, leadership and entrepreneurship. Every clip includes a transcript.
This resource could be used in many different ways: as a discussion starter in the classroom, to learn more about a company before an interview, as a way to practice and improve ones English skills, etc. The clips are all 2 mins or less. The interface is very easy to use, with the number of "entry points" to the clips making it easy to quickly find a pertinent clip.More»