Key: Recommended Database
EconLit - Via EBSCO - Dates: 1969-
EconLit identifies articles, books, working papers and more, covering all aspects of economics. Some full text and links to more.
A tutorial on using EconLit in the EBSCO interface is available on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tT6UEfZaQlkMore»
CompuStat - Dates: Varies
Financial, statistical and market data on active and inactive global companies throughout the world.
JSTOR - Dates: Varies by title from 1800s - 2000s
Full text articles in many disciplines.
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XIII. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.collections, however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway. More»
NBER Working Papers - Dates: Novermber 1994 - current
Full text of National Bureau of Economic Research working papers.
CEPR Discussion Papers - Dates: 1999 -
All CEPR Discussion Papers published since the beginning of 1999 (i.e. from No. 2050) are available as electronic (PDF) files.
Social Sciences Citation Index - Via ISI Web of Science - Dates: 1900 - current
Identifies journal articles and cited references in all social science disciplines, many with links to full text.
ScienceDirect - Dates: Varies
Journals from Elsevier Science. Browse or search tables of contents, abstracts and full text of articles in all disciplines.
Includes the sciences, engineering, humanities, social sciences, and clinical medicine. Full text from 1995 on, except as indicated.More»
World Development Indicators (WDI) Online - Dates: 1960 - current
Downloadable time series data for over 200 countries. Includes demographic, socioeconomic, market and environmental data.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) International Financial Statistics (IFS) - Dates: 1948 - current
Downloadable financial and economic time series data for over 200 countries.
Global Financial Data - Dates: Varies
Downloadable datasets of basic economic indicators (exchange & interest rates, commodity prices, CPI, PPI, etc.).
Provides long time series, and various interactive analysis tools. Global coverage is selective: can't guarantee that data will be available for every country. Note! UR does NOT subscribe to the US Stock or Global Stock Database sections.More»
Create a personal login for full functionality.
OECD iLibrary - Dates: 1983-current
Offers access to the full range of OECD statistical publications; coverage is global. Formerly known as SourceOECD.
ABI/INFORM Complete - Via ProQuest - Dates: Varies
Articles from academic business journals and business trade publications; country, industry reports, some market data.
Now includes 40M+ Experian Commercial Risk company reports. For alumni access, see link to Proquest Alumni Edition on the Alumni Library Gateway. More»
Africa Development Indicators - Dates: 1961--
Social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, environmental indicators for 53 African countries.
Provides data *as available* for countries and time period; data will not be available for all countries and all years.More»
BLS Statistics via Bureau of Labor Statistics - Dates: 1994-current
Provides datasets on labor economics, working condition, employment and pays, inflation and price, consumer expenditure survey.
Also includes pay and benefits information.More»
CenStats - Dates: Current
Data from U.S. Census databases.
Includes the Consolidated Federal Funds Report, International Trade Data, U.S. counties, County Business Patterns and the Annual Survey of Manufacturers. You may specify geographic areas, data sets, commodities, or other search elements. More»
County Business Patterns - Dates: 1998 - Current
Data on US businesses: number of establishments, employees, and payroll; from entire US to ZIP code level, by NAICS or SIC.
Data is annual; some series back to 1993 available online. NAICS and SIC are industry codes. Produced by the US Census Bureau.More»
Factiva - Via Factiva - Dates: Varies by publication
Contains articles on business, news, and companies worldwide, current and historical financial quotes, and company profiles.
Improve your search experience in Factiva with the tips in this handout: FactivaSearchTips.pdf
Global Development Finance (GDF) Online - Dates: 1970 - current
Downloadable time series data on debt and financial flow for countries that report debt to the World Bank.
Global Economic Monitor - Dates: current
Daily and monthly commentary on global economic conditions; access to high frequency data, trend analysis, forecasting & modeling.
provides daily and monthly commentary on global economic conditions along with direct access to high frequency data that is refreshed daily. It provides analysis of current economic trends, economic, financial and commodity data indicators, an extensive database including growth and commodity forecasts and access to the iSimulate modeling platform.More»
ICPSR - Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research - Dates: Varies
Datasets and codebooks in political science, health and welfare, education and economics.
Datasets, with codebooks, on political attitudes, health and welfare, education and economic behavior. Almost all codebooks are online. If a codebook is only available in hard copy, you may contact us for more info.More»
Datasets must be analyzed using statistical software such as SAS, SPSS, or Stata.
Interactive Data via Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) - Dates: Varies
Provides access to BEA data in national, international, regional or industry levels. BEA updates its data in near real time.
MathSciNet - Dates: 1940 - current
Identifies and provides reviews of journal papers and book chapters in math and related disciplines, some with links to full text.
New York State Data Center - Dates: Varies
Provides the state's primary and most comprehensive source for economic and demographic data.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History - Dates: Varies
Online access to an excellent resource for background information on economic history topics.
Palgrave Dictionary of Economics - Dates: Varies
Revised and expanded edition of the 1998 print dictionary.
ProQuest Research, Newspapers & Business - Dates: Varies
Identifies articles in journals, magazines and newspapers, many full text. Includes ABI/Inform, Ethnic NewsWatch,GenderWatch
and Alt-Press Watch.More»
ProQuest Statistical Insight - Via ProQuest - Dates: varies
US and international statistics. Includes full text statistical tables and abstracts of additional statistical sources.
Covers material in American Statistics Index (ASI), Index to International Statistics (IIS) and Statistical Reference Index (SRI). Googling for material not in full text in the database works quite well.More»
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) - Dates: Varies
Identifies working papers and articles in economics, accounting, legal studies and management, many with links to full text.
Statistics Canada - Dates: Varies
Oficial website for Canadian census data, economic and health indicators, and social and justice conditions.
UNdata - Dates: Current
Retrieves data series from more than 30 United Nations and agency databases in one search interface.
UNdata allows you to search 30 United Nations and agency databases in one search interface. It contains a wide range of subjects including agriculture, crime, education, employment, energy, environment, health, HIV/AIDS, human development, industry, information and communication technology, national accounts, population, refugees, tourism, etc.More»
Wall Street Journal - Via Factiva - Dates: 1979 - current
Full text articles published in the Wall Street Journal.
After connecting to Factiva, use the "Source Browser" to limit your search to the Wall Street Journal.