Education
Education
Subject Librarian:
Kathy McGowan
kmcgowan@library.rochester.edu
585-275-9302
-
Education Full Text
- Via EBSCO - Dates: 1983 - current
Identifies journal articles in education and related fields, many with links to the online full text.
Includes administration, teaching methods, curriculum, literacy and government funding.More»
-
ERIC
- Via FirstSearch - Dates: 1966 - current
Identifies articles and documents (ED #s) on education research and practice, many with links to full text.
Most ED's are not in the library catalog, but are available on microfiche and, beginning 1993, available online.More»
-
PsycINFO
- Via Ovid - Dates: 1969 - current
Identifies articles, books and dissertations in psychology and related subjects, many with links to full text.
-
ISI Citation Databases
- Dates: 1898 - current
Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from all disciplines, some with links to full text.
Comprised of three databases that can be searched separately or in combination: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-current), Science Citation Index Expanded (1973-current), Social Sciences Citation Index (1973-current).More»
-
Education Index Retrospective
- Via EBSCO - Dates: 1929-1983
Identifies articles from over 500 education journals, monographs, and yearbooks.
-
WorldCat
- Via FirstSearch - Dates: Updated daily
Identifies and locates books and other materials owned by libraries in the US and internationally.
Use WorldCat to locate materials outside of UR, in all disciplines and formats, or to locate items in specific libraries and research collections. More»
-
Google Scholar
- Dates: varies
For off-campus access to full text: Click Scholar Preferences and add Rochester as your Library Link. Be sure to Save Preferences.
-
Teacher Reference Center
- Via EBSCO - Dates: Varies
Identifies articles in 260 journals for K-12 teachers and administrators.
-
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Educational Psychology and Administration and Educational Curriculum and Methods
- Dates: Current
Provides contact information, manuscript guidelines, article acceptance rates, circulation and price for journals in education.
-
Child Care and Early Education Research Connections
- Dates: Varies
Identifies journal articles, books, research reports, factsheets, briefs, gray literature, instruments, and government document
Produced by the National Center for Children in Poverty at Columbia University, the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research at the University of Michigan, and the Child Care Bureau, Administration for Children and Families of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. More»
-
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works
- Dates: Varies
Collection containing real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience.
-
ebrary
- Dates: Varies
Selected full text of books in all disciplines.
If you need help creating an account, go here:
http://site.ebrary.com/lib/rochester/help.action?topic=creating_an_account
It depends upon your browser - Firefox: If you've arrived at ebrary from the library catalog: 1. Click on the puzzle piece that says, "Click here to download plugin." 2. Click on the "Manual Install" button. This will open an ebrary download page in a new window. 3. Click the "Download ebrary Reader for Windows Now" link. Depending on your security settings, Firefox may display a plugin security warning at the top of the page and refuse to download the plugin. If this happens, you must: i. Click the "Edit Options..." button. ii. Click "Allow" to add ebrary to the list of trusted sites. iii. Click "OK" to update your options. iv. Click the "Download ebrary Reader for Windows Now" link again to download the Reader. v. Once the plugin downloads, click the "Install Now" button to complete installation. More»
-
Ebscohost eBook Collections
- Via EBSCO - Dates: Varies
Was called NetLibrary, now called Ebscohost eBooks. Selected book titles in all disciplines. Full text.
To download ebook full-text, please follow the next steps: 1.) Create an account. 2.) click on “Add to folder” to have a book added to the personal folder in your account. More»
-
EndNote
- Dates: Current
Export and format references from databases. Learn more.
Download the EndNote client here. Requires NetID or URMC AD authentication. -
ETS Test Collection Database
- Dates: 1900 - current
Identifies educational and psychological tests and research measures.
-
IngentaConnect
- Dates: Varies
Available full text is indicated by "subs."
Not all full text links are available to UR. Check Voyager or try Interlibrary Loan. -
JSTOR
- Dates: Varies by title from 1800s - 2000s
Full text articles in many disciplines.
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XI. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections, however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. More»
-
LexisNexis Academic
- Via LexisNexis - Dates: Varies
Full text articles from newspapers, magazines, selected journals, and reference books.
Search in five major content areas: news, business, legal research, medical and reference. News section includes newspapers and journals; business section has full text company and industry news, including accounting literature, and corporate financial information including 10Ks and annual reports. Legal section includes articles, case law, codes and regulations, international case law, patents, and directories of lawyers and law schools.More»
-
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts - LLBA
- Via CSA - Dates: 1973 - current
Identifies articles, books and reports in linguistics and related fields, many with links to full text.
-
Philosopher's Index
- Via EBSCO - Dates: 1940-current
Identifies articles and books on ethics, aesthetics, social and political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic.
-
PolicyFile
- Dates: 1990 - current
Research publications from U.S. and international think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers
Includes demographic, business and census data with abstracts and updated weekly. Profile provides users with web links to contributing organization's home page, email address, scholar biographies and full text. More»
-
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full-Text
- Via ProQuest - Dates: 1861 - current
Identifies Ph.D. dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities since 1861. Abstracts from 1980. Many with full-text.
-
ProQuest Research
- Via ProQuest - Dates: Varies
Identifies articles on all topics, many with links to full text. Includes articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
-
PsycARTICLES
- Via Ovid - Dates: 1988 - current
Full text articles in psychology, many published by the American Psychological Association.
Check "PsycARTICLES" underneath the search box. -
RefWorks
- Dates: Varies
A web-based citation management tool. Export references from databases and format them for papers and bibliographies.
For more information consult the U of R RefWorks help page. More»
Create your own account by clicking on "Sign up for an Individual Account." -
SocINDEX
- Dates: 1895 - current
Identifies articles, books and other resources in sociology, anthropology, education, and other social sciences.
Includes some links to full text.More»
-
UlrichsWeb
- Dates: Current
Identifies scholarly and popular journals, magazines, and other serial publications from around the world.
Includes reviews of many titles.More»
-
Wilson OmniFile
- Via EBSCO - Dates: 1982 - current
Identifies articles on many subjects with some full text.
Includes full text from these databases, when available: General Science Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, Index to Legal periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science Index, Readers' Guide Abstracts, Social Sciences Abstracts, and Wilson Business Abstracts. More»





