Engineering, Biomedical
Engineering, Biomedical
Subject Librarian:
Alison Bersani
abersani@library.rochester.edu
585-275-6882
-
Science Citation Index Expanded
- Via ISI Web of Science - Dates: 1898 - current
Identifies research articles and cited references in science, engineering and medicine, with many links to full text.
-
Compendex
- Dates: 1970 - current
Identifies journal articles and other literature on engineering, with some links to full text.
-
Medline - OVID
- Via Ovid - Dates: 1950 - current
Identifies articles in clinical and basic biomedical research as well as in psychology. Many with links to full text.
Full-text articles are provided by Ovid and may include some articles not available though our regular online journal subscriptions. Provides the easiest interface for precise searching with subject headings and subheadings.More»
-
Medline - PubMed
- Dates: 1950 - current
Identifies articles in clinical and basic biomedical research as well as in psychology, many with links to full text.
Most current version of Medline. May include articles from selectively indexed journals that do not appear in other versions of Medline. Includes access to the molecular sequence databases of the Entrez system. Automatically expands (explodes) subject headings. Truncation turns off this automatic expansion of the hierarchical subject headings.More»
-
USPTO Patent Database
- Dates: 1790 - current
Full text and images of U.S. patents.
To view the full text patents, a plug-in is required. Go to the USPTO help page for more information. Full text for patents from 1976 - current. Pre-1976 patents are searchable only by patent number and current classification code.More»
-
IEEE Xplore
- Dates: Varies
Full text of IEEE and IET journals, magazines, transactions and conference proceedings as well as active IEEE standards.
-
Biological Sciences
- Via ProQuest - Dates: 1982 - current
Identifies articles on biomedicine, biotechnology, behavior, ecology, neuroscience, and zoology. Relatively weak in botany.
Covers the literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents. Topics include: Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts 1993-Current Algology Mycology and Protozoology Abstracts (Microbiology C) 1982-Current Animal Behavior Abstracts 1982-Current ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources 1971-Current ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts 1984-Current ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts 1989-Current Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) 1982-Current BioEngineering Abstracts 1993-Current Calcium and Calcified Tissue Abstracts 1982-Current Chemoreception Abstracts 1982-Current CSA Neurosciences Abstracts 1982-Current Ecology Abstracts 1982-Current Entomology Abstracts 1981-Current Genetics Abstracts 1982-Current Health and Safety Science Abstracts 1981-Current Human Genome Abstracts 1982-1995 Immunology Abstracts 1982-Current Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A) 1982-Current Medical and Pharmaceutical Biotechnology Abstracts 1993-Current Nucleic Acids Abstracts 1982-Current Oncogenes and Growth Factors Abstracts 1989-Current Toxicology Abstracts 1981-Current Virology and AIDS Abstracts 1982-Current More»
-
CSA (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
- Via Mirror site in UK - Dates: Varies
Identifies articles, books and conference papers from a variety of disciplines. Multiple databases can be searched simultaneously.
Individual databases are also listed separately: ARTbibliographies Modern, Biological Sciences, Biology Digest, Conference Papers Index, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, MEDLINE, Plant Science, TOXLINE, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and Zoological Record Plus. For descriptions, see individual title listings.More»
-
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
- Dates: Current
Full text encyclopedia articles on biology, with links to other resources.
Includes customizable features for classes and individuals.More»





