Key: Recommended Database
FDsys - Dates: varies
Official Source for Online Government Information
CenStats - Dates: Current
Data from U.S. Census databases.
Includes the Consolidated Federal Funds Report, International Trade Data, U.S. counties, County Business Patterns and the Annual Survey of Manufacturers. You may specify geographic areas, data sets, commodities, or other search elements. More»
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. - Via ProQuest - Dates: varies
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
ProQuest Congressional - Via ProQuest - Dates: Varies
Pending legislation, U.S. laws, testimony before Congress and other Congressional documents. See also: HeinOnline.
Also includes full text of the Congressional Record, legislative histories, committee information, member biographies, legislative news, the U.S. code, court decisions and the Congressional Information Service (CIS) index.More»
ProQuest Statistical Insight - Via ProQuest - Dates: varies
US and international statistics. Includes full text statistical tables and abstracts of additional statistical sources.
Covers material in American Statistics Index (ASI), Index to International Statistics (IIS) and Statistical Reference Index (SRI). Googling for material not in full text in the database works quite well.More»
Thomas - Dates: Current
Congressional bills, U.S. laws, the Congressional record, committee reports, roll call votes, and U.S. government information.
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents - Dates: 1993 - current
Full text statements, messages, and other Presidential materials released by the White House during the preceding week.
Treaties and Agreements Library - HeinOnline - Dates: Varies
Contains all the US treaties and other international agreements, including official and unofficial treaty publications.
U.S. Federal Legislative History Library - HeinOnline - Dates: Varies
Full-text searching on the U.S. federal legislative history.
U.S. Statutes at Large - HeinOnline - Dates: 1789-2007
Full-text archive of the US Statutes at Large.
BLS Statistics via Bureau of Labor Statistics - Dates: 1994-current
Provides datasets on labor economics, working condition, employment and pays, inflation and price, consumer expenditure survey.
Also includes pay and benefits information.More»
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports - Dates: 2004-current
Nonpartisan research and policy analysis prepared by CRS for members of Congress.
County Business Patterns - Dates: 1998 - Current
Data on US businesses: number of establishments, employees, and payroll; from entire US to ZIP code level, by NAICS or SIC.
Data is annual; some series back to 1993 available online. NAICS and SIC are industry codes. Produced by the US Census Bureau.More»
Declassified Documents Reference System - Via Gale Group - Dates: 1905-2000s
Full text of more than 78,000 declassified U.S. federal documents.
It covers major international events, including the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond. It is also a source of information about US post- World War II domestic policy and international relations. More»
FedStats - Dates: Varies
A gateway for statistics from over 100 federal agencies. Access by topic and geography.
GPO Monthly Catalog - Via FirstSearch - Dates: 1976 - current
Identifies publications of U.S. government agencies on all topics published by the Government Printing Office.
HeinOnline - Dates: varies
Extensive collection of government publications and related materials. Includes title list and search tips.
Full text searching. Many titles include entire back file. Downloading as PDF and Text is limited to a maximum of 200 pages.More»
Homeland Security Digital Library - Dates: Varies
Collection of full-text government documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management.
The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security. The Homeland Security Digital Library is composed of more than 57,000 full-text items offering users a range of materials in contemporary and historical issues in homeland security and its related fields. These items are carefully selected from a wide variety of sources, including federal, state, tribal, and local government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks, academic institutions, and international governing bodies. More»
Interactive Data via Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) - Dates: Varies
Provides access to BEA data in national, international, regional or industry levels. BEA updates its data in near real time.
Nation Digital Archive - Dates: 1865 - current
Full text, plus graphics, from The Nation magazine from 1865 on.
Includes photos, drawings, maps, etc. Search or browse by date, author, or subject category. Advertisements are present but cannot be searched for separately.More»
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) - Dates: Varies
Statistical data related to education in the U.S., including public school district finance information.
New York State Data Center - Dates: Varies
Provides the state's primary and most comprehensive source for economic and demographic data.
Open Data: State of New York - Dates: Varies
New York open data portal that searches local and state data in one place. The datasets are sorted by subject and location.
Statistics Canada - Dates: Varies
Oficial website for Canadian census data, economic and health indicators, and social and justice conditions.
U.S. Census - Business and Industry - Dates: varies
Includes data from the Economic Census and the Population Census that relates to business and industry.
USA Trade Online - Dates: Current
Official source of current and cumulative U.S. export and import statistics.
Provides more than 18,000 export commodities and 24,000 import commodities worldwide, using the Harmonized System (HS) and the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) commodity classification codes.More»
Access is available at the following workstations in the Business and Government Information Library and Rush Rhees Reference Department: BGIL Reference Desk and REF Pub 34-Win7.
USA.gov - Dates: Varies
Official portal to U.S. government web pages. Keyword access to digitized government documents.
Intended audience: citizens, businesses, non-profits and governments. Keyword access to digitized government documents. Search by topic and activity. Links to state and local government, and other tools. More»
USPTO Patent Database - Dates: 1790 - current
Full text and images of U.S. patents.
To view the full text patents, a plug-in is required. Go to the USPTO help page for more information. Full text for patents from 1976 - current. Pre-1976 patents are searchable only by patent number and current classification code.More»
USPTO Trademark Database - Dates: 1884 - current
Full text and images for pending, registered and dead U. S. trademark records.
Contains only those trademarks that are federally registered or that are pending (applications undergoing examination at the PTO). More»