History, American
History, American
Subject Librarian:
Margaret Becket
mbecket@library.rochester.edu
585-275-9300
-
America: History and Life
- Dates: 1964 - current
Identifies articles, book/media reviews, dissertations on U.S. & Canadian history, many linked to JSTOR or other full-text formats
-
JSTOR
- Dates: Varies by title from 1800s - 2000s
Full text articles in many disciplines.
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XI. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections, however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. More»
-
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
- Via ProQuest - Dates: Varies
Full text - articles, ads, pictures - of New York Times (1851 - 2007) & other major papers. Click "More" link for their names.
Atlanta Constitution (1868 - 1945, Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
Boston Globe (1872 - 1927)
Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1987)
Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 1997)
Irish Times (1859 - 2007)
Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1987)
New York Times (1851 - 2007) Some issues for 1953, 1962-1963, 1965, 1978 were never published due to pressman's strikes. No Sunday issue was published until April 21, 1861.
Wall Street Journal (1889 - 1993)
Washington Post (1877 - 1994) More»
-
Readers' Guide Retrospective
- Via EBSCO - Dates: 1890 - 1982
Identifies articles in popular and general-interest periodicals published in the US and Canada, 1890 - 1982.
-
ACLS Humanities E-Book
- Dates: Varies
Full text of selected book titles in the humanities with special strength in history. Also known as ACLS History Ebook Project.
-
America's Historical Imprints (Evans), Series I
- Dates: 1639-1800
Full text books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the United States in the 17th and 18th centuries.
Includes the non-serial titles recorded by Charles Evans in his American Bibliography and additional items identified by Roger Pattrell Bristol in Supplement to Charles Evans' American Bibliography.
Downloading as PDF is limited to 25 pages per download, but multiple downloads are allowed. See publisher's instructions - http://infoweb.newsbank.com/iw-search/we/Evans/?p_action=main&p_product= EAIX&p_theme=help&f_id=downloading . More»
After connecting, find database under "Archive of Americana." -
America's Historical Imprints (Shaw-Shoemaker), Series II
- Dates: 1801-1819
Full text books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the United States in the early 19th century.
Includes non-serial titles listed in the bibliography by Ralph B. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker and supplemented by thousands of new items.
Downloading as PDF is limited to 25 pages per download, but multiple downloads are allowed. See publisher's instructions - http://infoweb.newsbank.com/iw-search/we/Evans/?p_action=main&p_product= EAIX&p_theme=help&f_id=downloading . More»
After connecting, find database under "Archive of Americana." -
America's Historical Newspapers, Series 1-5
- Dates: 1690-1922
Full text of American newspapers from colonial times to the 1920's.
-
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- Via ISI Web of Science - Dates: 1975 - current
Identifies articles and cited references in selected arts and humanities journals.
-
H-Net Reviews
- Dates: 1996 - current
Full text of reviews of books and web sites in the humanities and social sciences.
-
HarpWeek
- Dates: 1857 - 1912
Reproduces the news/opinion magazine Harper's Weekly.
Subject indexing for all materials, including fiction, graphics, cartoons, and advertisements.More»
-
Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition
- Dates: 1600's-2000
Numerical tables and essays on all quantitative aspects of American history.
Dramatically expanded edition of the standard source for statistics in American history. Includes more than 37,000 data series; all aspects of social, economic and political life. More»
-
History Behind the Headlines
- Dates: Current
Useful for background information on topics in the news in recent years. Most entries are fairly lengthy; a good starting point.
Part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library, this resource is most useful for a topic that's in recent headlines, (last few years). Is particularly strong on "conflicts" that involve violence (such as 9/11). More»
-
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective
- Via EBSCO - Dates: 1907 - 1984
Identifies journal articles in all areas of the humanities and social sciences.
Journals indexed cover these disciplines: addiction studies, anthropology, archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, community health & medical care, corrections, criminal justice, criminology, dance, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, film, folklore, gender studies, geography, gerontology, history, international relations, journalism, law, linguistics, literary & social criticism literature, minority studies, music, performing arts, philosophy, planning & public administration, policy sciences, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, religion and theology, social work, sociology, urban studies More»
-
Nation Digital Archive
- Dates: 1865 - current
Full text, plus graphics, from The Nation magazine from 1865 on.
Includes photos, drawings, maps, etc. Search or browse by date, author, or subject category. Advertisements are present but cannot be searched for separately.More»
-
Nineteenth Century Masterfile
- Dates: 1780's - 1920's
Identifies articles in many U.S. and British journals from 1780's to 1920's. Includes Poole's Index and several others.
-
Periodicals Contents Index
- Dates: 19th century - 1960
Identifies articles from North American and international journals in the humanities and social sciences.
-
Readers' Guide Full Text
- Via EBSCO - Dates: 1983 - current
Identifies articles in popular and general-interest periodicals published in the US and Canada, 1983 - date.
-
Social Sciences Citation Index
- Via ISI Web of Science - Dates: 1900 - current
Identifies journal articles and cited references in all social science disciplines, many with links to full text.





