Key: Recommended Database
Historical Abstracts - Dates: 1967 - current
Identifies articles and books on history since 1450, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Some links to full text.
JSTOR - Dates: Varies by title from 1800s - 2000s
Full text articles in many disciplines.
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XII. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.collections, however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway. More»
ACLS Humanities E-Book - Dates: Varies
Full text of selected book titles in the humanities with special strength in history. Also known as ACLS History Ebook Project.
Bibliography of British and Irish History - Dates: 55 BC - present
Identifies books and articles on the history of the British Isles and Ireland from 55 BC to the present.
CAJ: China Academic Journals full-text database: Series F Literature/History/Philosophy - Dates: 1994-current
A full-text database of Chinese-language journals in literature, history and philosophy.
The files cover critical events in Chinese history, from the rise of the Kuomintang and the war with Japan to the foundation of the People's Republic, the Cultural Revolution, and the arrest and trial of the Gang of Four.More»
Caribbean Newspapers, Series I, 1718-1876 - Dates: 1718-1876
The largest collection of historical newspapers from the Caribbean; a great resource for colonial history.
Foreign Office Files for China - Dates: 1919-1980
A digital collection of the British Foreign Office files for China, from 1919 to 1980.
The files cover critical events in Chinese history, from the foundation of the People's Republic to the Korean War, the Great Leap Forward, the Cultural Revolution, the death of Mao Zedong, and the arrest and trial of the Gang of Four. More»
Index to Jewish Periodicals - Via EBSCO - Dates: 1988-present
Identifies articles on Jewish history, activity, and thought.
International Medieval Bibliography - Dates: 400 - 1500
Multi-disciplinary database listing articles and books about the European Middle Ages.
Covers work published throughout Europe, the Americas, and the Asia-Pacific region on the disciplines that comprise Medieval Studies.More»
Nineteenth Century Collections Online - Dates: 1789-1914
Full text archives, books, newspapers, manuscripts, photographs, maps, ephemera, and statistical data from around the world.
UR Library has purchased the following segments: 1) Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange. 2) British Politics and Society. 3) European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection. 4) British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture . 5) History of science, technology, and medicine. 6) Photography-the world through the lens. 7) Women: transnational networks. 8) Europe and Africa: commerce, Christianity, civilization, and conquest. More»
World newspaper Archive. African newspapers segment - Dates: 1800-1924
Provides over 40 fully searchable newspapers published in Africa during the 19th and early 20th centuries.
African Newspapers provides primary-source documents for the Age of Imperialism at its height, and is a valuable aid for researchers in African history.More»