Languages & Cultures
Subject Librarian:
Kristen Totleben
ktotleben@library.rochester.edu
585-275-9304
-
MLA International Bibliography
- Via ProQuest - Dates: Varies
Identifies articles, books, dissertations on literature, linguistics, film and folklore, most published since 1926.
-
Literature Online
- Dates: Varies
Gateway to full text works of poetry, drama and prose, literary criticism and reference.
-
Wilson OmniFile
- Via EBSCO - Dates: 1982 - current
Identifies articles on many subjects with some full text.
Includes full text from these databases, when available: General Science Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, Index to Legal periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science Index, Readers' Guide Abstracts, Social Sciences Abstracts, and Wilson Business Abstracts. More»
-
ProQuest Research
- Via ProQuest - Dates: Varies
Identifies articles on all topics, many with links to full text. Includes articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway. For alumni, off campus access is for a subset of content.More»
-
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- Via ISI Web of Science - Dates: 1975 - current
Identifies articles and cited references in selected arts and humanities journals.
-
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts - LLBA
- Via CSA - Dates: 1973 - current
Identifies articles, books and reports in linguistics and related fields, many with links to full text.
-
JSTOR
- Dates: Varies by title from 1800s - 2000s
Full text articles in many disciplines.
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XII. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.collections, however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway. More»
-
ARTFL Project
- Dates: 1300 - current
Full text of French language literature, philosophy, arts, and sciences.
-
ArticleFirst
- Via FirstSearch - Dates: 1990 - current
Tables of contents in journals covering all disciplines and subjects, with information about each article.
-
Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft
- Dates: 1985 - current
Identifies articles, books and dissertations in the area of German language and literature.
-
Bibliography of Asian Studies
- Dates: 1971 - current
Identifies articles, books and book chapters on Asian history, geography and culture.
Citations are in English and other Western languages.More»
-
Clase and Periódica
- Via FirstSearch - Dates: Varies
Identifies articles in Latin American journals in all disciplines.
In Spanish, Portuguese, French and English.More»
-
Dartmouth Dante Project
- Dates: 14th - 20th century
Full text of Dante's Divine Comedy in Italian, with selected commentaries published from 1322-1982.
-
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
- Via Gale Group - Dates: 1701-1800
Full text, fully searchable books published in the 18th century in the United Kingdom and the Americas. Includes page images.
Comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, the well-known microfilm collection. Currently includes more than 138,000 English-language titles and editions (over 155,000 volumes) published between 1701 and 1800. The project allows for full-text searching of more than 26 million pages of material spanning all disciplines.
Downloading as PDF (up to 250 pages at a time) is supported. See publisher's instructions - http://find.galegroup.com/ecco/help/ECCODocDownloadHelp.html.More»
-
Ethnic NewsWatch
- Via ProQuest - Dates: 1960 - current
Full text articles from the ethnic and minority press in the U.S.
-
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)
- Dates: 1935 - current
Identifies articles, books and conference papers on Latin America.
Covers anthropology, art, economics, geography, government and politics, history, international relations, literature, music, philosophy and sociology.More»
-
LexisNexis Academic
- Via LexisNexis - Dates: Varies
Full text articles from newspapers, magazines, selected journals, and reference books.
Search in five major content areas: news, business, legal research, medical and reference. News section includes newspapers and journals; business section has full text company and industry news, including accounting literature, and corporate financial information including 10Ks and annual reports. Legal section includes articles, case law, codes and regulations, international case law, patents, and directories of lawyers and law schools.More»
-
Project Muse
- Dates: 1993 - current
Full text of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.





