Literature, American & English
Key: Recommended Database
MLA International Bibliography - Via ProQuest - Dates: Varies
Identifies articles, books, dissertations on literature, linguistics, film and folklore, most published since 1926.
Literature Online - Dates: Varies
Gateway to full text works of poetry, drama and prose, literary criticism and reference.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index - Via ISI Web of Science - Dates: 1975 - current
Identifies articles and cited references in selected arts and humanities journals.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online - Via Gale Group - Dates: Current
Full text biography, criticism and bibliography for writers from all eras, nationalities and genres.
Dictionary of Old English Corpus - Dates: Varies
Concordance to all Old English texts.
Searchable database consisting of at least one copy of every Old English text (in some cases, more than one copy, if it is significant because of dialect or date). The DOEC represents about three million words of Old English and another two million words of Latin. More»
Early English Books Online (EEBO) - Via ProQuest - Dates: 1473 - 1700
Full-text of books from the beginning of printing in England through 1700.
EEBO contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473 to 1700. EEBO now contains about 100,000 of the titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement.
Downloading as PDF is supported from the marked list or from inside a title. See the publisher's instructions - http://eebo.chadwyck.com/help/download.htm. More»
Early English Books Online Text Creation Partnership - Dates: 1473-1700
Provides fully searchable, easily legible reading copies of thousands of EEBO texts.
ESTC: English Short Title Catalogue - Dates: 1473 - 1800
Identifies works printed in England in any language and in English worldwide. See also Early English Books Online for fulltext.
Humanities Full Text - Via EBSCO - Dates: 1984 - current
Identifies articles on art, architecture, folklore, myth, film, journalism, music and religion. Many with links to full text.
JSTOR - Dates: Varies by title from 1800s - 2000s
Full text articles in many disciplines.
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XIII. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.collections, however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway. More»
Literary Index - Dates: Varies
Identifies biographical information and literary criticism published in Gale series, by Scribner's, St. James Press and Twayne.
It combines and cross-references author names (including pseudonyms and variant names) and titles into one source.More»
Project Muse - Dates: 1993 - current
Full text of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.