Key: Recommended Database
ProQuest Research - Via ProQuest - Dates: Varies
Identifies articles on all topics, many with links to full text. Includes articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway. For alumni, off campus access is for a subset of content.More»
ProQuest Research, Newspapers & Business - Dates: Varies
Identifies articles in journals, magazines and newspapers, many full text. Includes ABI/Inform, Ethnic NewsWatch,GenderWatch
and Alt-Press Watch.More»
Wilson OmniFile - Via EBSCO - Dates: 1982 - current
Identifies articles on many subjects with some full text.
Includes full text from these databases, when available: General Science Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, Index to Legal periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science Index, Readers' Guide Abstracts, Social Sciences Abstracts, and Wilson Business Abstracts. More»
JSTOR - Dates: Varies by title from 1800s - 2000s
Full text articles in many disciplines.
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XII. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.collections, however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway. More»
WorldCat - Via FirstSearch - Dates: Updated daily
Identifies and locates books and other materials owned by libraries in the US and internationally.
Use WorldCat to locate materials outside of UR, in all disciplines and formats, or to locate items in specific libraries and research collections. More»
CREDO Reference - Dates: 1911-present
A customizable general reference solution for librarians and learners offering more than 600 titles from over 80 publishers.
ebrary - Dates: Varies
Selected full text of books in all disciplines.
If you need help creating an account, go here:
It depends upon your browser - Firefox: If you've arrived at ebrary from the library catalog: 1. Click on the puzzle piece that says, "Click here to download plugin." 2. Click on the "Manual Install" button. This will open an ebrary download page in a new window. 3. Click the "Download ebrary Reader for Windows Now" link. Depending on your security settings, Firefox may display a plugin security warning at the top of the page and refuse to download the plugin. If this happens, you must: i. Click the "Edit Options..." button. ii. Click "Allow" to add ebrary to the list of trusted sites. iii. Click "OK" to update your options. iv. Click the "Download ebrary Reader for Windows Now" link again to download the Reader. v. Once the plugin downloads, click the "Install Now" button to complete installation. More»
ArticleFirst - Via FirstSearch - Dates: 1990 - current
Tables of contents in journals covering all disciplines and subjects, with information about each article.
Choice Reviews - Dates: 1988 - current
Brief reviews of academic books in all disciplines.
Google Scholar - Dates: varies
For off-campus access to full text: Click Scholar Preferences and add Rochester as your Library Link. Be sure to Save Preferences.
LexisNexis Academic - Via LexisNexis - Dates: Varies
Full text articles from newspapers, magazines, selected journals, and reference books.
Search in five major content areas: news, business, legal research, medical and reference. News section includes newspapers and journals; business section has full text company and industry news, including accounting literature, and corporate financial information including 10Ks and annual reports. Legal section includes articles, case law, codes and regulations, international case law, patents, and directories of lawyers and law schools.More»
Sage Journals - Dates: Varies
Journals from Sage Publications. Browse or search tables of contents, abstracts and full text articles in all disciplines.
Includes the Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. Full text available as indicated. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway. More»
ScienceDirect - Dates: Varies
Journals from Elsevier Science. Browse or search tables of contents, abstracts and full text of articles in all disciplines.
Includes the sciences, engineering, humanities, social sciences, and clinical medicine. Full text from 1995 on, except as indicated.More»
Web of Science - Via ISI Web of Science - Dates: 1898 - current
Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from all disciplines, some with links to full text.
Comprised of three databases that can be searched separately or in combination: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-current), Science Citation Index Expanded (1973-current), Social Sciences Citation Index (1973-current).More»