Music
Music
Subject Librarian:
Deborah Fox
dfox@library.rochester.edu
585-275-9277
-
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition
- Dates: Varies
Full text encyclopedia of all aspects of classical, contemporary, world, and popular music.
-
RILM Music Abstracts
- Via EBSCO - Dates: 1967 - current
Identifies articles on music.
-
Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology: DDM
- Dates: 1995 - current
Identifies dissertations-in-progress and completed dissertations reported since 1995, arranged by broad categories.
-
JSTOR
- Dates: Varies by title from 1800s - 2000s
Full text articles in many disciplines.
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XI. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections, however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. More»
-
Naxos Music Library
- Dates: varies
Streamed access to and information about Naxos recordings.
Classical, jazz, world, folk, and Chinese music are represented. Liner notes, as well as biographical information on composers and artists, are also available.More»
-
Project Muse
- Dates: 1993 - current
Full text of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
-
Music Index
- Dates: 1979 - current
Identifies articles on music.
-
Wilson OmniFile
- Via EBSCO - Dates: 1982 - current
Identifies articles on many subjects with some full text.
Includes full text from these databases, when available: General Science Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, Index to Legal periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science Index, Readers' Guide Abstracts, Social Sciences Abstracts, and Wilson Business Abstracts. More»
-
WorldCat
- Via FirstSearch - Dates: Updated daily
Identifies and locates books and other materials owned by libraries in the US and internationally.
Use WorldCat to locate materials outside of UR, in all disciplines and formats, or to locate items in specific libraries and research collections. More»





