Key: Recommended Database
Philosopher's Index - Via EBSCO - Dates: 1940-current
Identifies articles and books on ethics, aesthetics, social and political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy - Dates: 1998 edition, with periodic updates
Full text of Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Note: uses British spelling.
Philosophy Online - Dates: Varies
Full-text collection of philosophy journals.
Google Scholar - Dates: varies
For off-campus access to full text: Click Scholar Preferences and add Rochester as your Library Link. Be sure to Save Preferences.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective - Via EBSCO - Dates: 1907 - 1984
Identifies journal articles in all areas of the humanities and social sciences.
Journals indexed cover these disciplines: addiction studies, anthropology, archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, community health & medical care, corrections, criminal justice, criminology, dance, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, film, folklore, gender studies, geography, gerontology, history, international relations, journalism, law, linguistics, literary & social criticism literature, minority studies, music, performing arts, philosophy, planning & public administration, policy sciences, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, religion and theology, social work, sociology, urban studies More»
ISI Citation Databases - Dates: 1898 - current
Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from all disciplines, some with links to full text.
Comprised of three databases that can be searched separately or in combination: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-current), Science Citation Index Expanded (1973-current), Social Sciences Citation Index (1973-current).More»
JSTOR - Dates: Varies by title from 1800s - 2000s
Full text articles in many disciplines.
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XIII. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.collections, however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway. More»
L'Annee Philologique - Via EBSCO - Dates: 1928 - current
Indexes scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full-Text - Via ProQuest - Dates: 1861 - current
Identifies Ph.D. dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities since 1861. Abstracts from 1980. Many with full-text.
RefWorks - Dates: Varies
Web-based citation management tool. Export references from databases & format them for papers & bibliographies.Off-campus:use VPN
For more information consult the U of R RefWorks help page. More»
Create your own account by clicking on "Sign up for an Individual Account."
Wilson OmniFile - Via EBSCO - Dates: 1982 - current
Identifies articles on many subjects with some full text.
Includes full text from these databases, when available: General Science Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, Index to Legal periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science Index, Readers' Guide Abstracts, Social Sciences Abstracts, and Wilson Business Abstracts. More»