Key: Recommended Database
JSTOR - Dates: Varies by title from 1800s - 2000s
Full text articles in many disciplines.
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XI. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections, however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. More»
Political Science Complete - Via EBSCO - Dates: varies
Identifies articles in political science, many with links to the online full text.
Covers comparative politics, American politics, international relations, legislative politics, NGOs and political theory.More»
Public Affairs Index - Via EBSCO - Dates: Varies
Identifies articles on public policy, many with links to the online full text.
Covers public health, the environment, housing, human rights, economic and banking policy, international conflict and trade.More»
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications - Dates: Current
Publications of U.S. government agencies on all topics published by the Government Printing Office.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) - Dates: 1991 - current
Articles, working papers, policy briefs, case studies, conference papers and books in International Affairs.
Includes a schedule of scholarly events in "Foreign Affairs and Security Policy" and links to international affairs centers, U.S., international, and foreign government sites; environmental studies Web pages; and news media services.More»
CQ Almanac Online - Dates: 1945-current
Summarizes noteworthy Congressional activity, including key legislation and votes.
CQ Congress Collection - Dates: Current
Includes floor votes, member interest-group ratings, and reporting and analysis on Congress.
CQ Researcher - Dates: 1991 - current
Overview of national policy issues and Congressional legislation, with pro/con commentary and chronologies
Reports include legislative background information, chronologies, pro and con commentary and suggested resources.More»
CQ Weekly - Dates: Varies
Expert reporting on the U.S. Congress, status of bills, votes, floor and committee activity.
Declassified Documents Reference System - Via Gale Group - Dates: 1905-2000s
Full text of more than 78,000 declassified U.S. federal documents.
It covers major international events, including the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond. It is also a source of information about US post- World War II domestic policy and international relations. More»
EconLit - Via EBSCO - Dates: 1969-
EconLit identifies articles, books, working papers and more, covering all aspects of economics. Some full text and links to more.
A tutorial on using EconLit in the EBSCO interface is available on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tT6UEfZaQlkMore»
Factiva - Via Factiva - Dates: Varies by publication
Contains articles on business, news, and companies worldwide, current and historical financial quotes, and company profiles.
Improve your search experience in Factiva with the tips in this handout: FactivaSearchTips.pdf
Global Development Finance (GDF) Online - Dates: 1970 - current
Downloadable time series data on debt and financial flow for countries that report debt to the World Bank.
ICPSR - Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research - Dates: Varies
Datasets and codebooks in political science, health and welfare, education and economics.
Datasets, with codebooks, on political attitudes, health and welfare, education and economic behavior. Almost all codebooks are online. If a codebook is only available in hard copy, you may contact us for more info.More»
Datasets must be analyzed using statistical software such as SAS, SPSS, or Stata.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) International Financial Statistics (IFS) - Dates: 1948 - current
Downloadable financial and economic time series data for over 200 countries.
Keesing's Record of World Events Online - Dates: 1931 - current
A monthly digest of world political, diplomatic and economic events.
LexisNexis Academic - Via LexisNexis - Dates: Varies
Full text articles from newspapers, magazines, selected journals, and reference books.
Search in five major content areas: news, business, legal research, medical and reference. News section includes newspapers and journals; business section has full text company and industry news, including accounting literature, and corporate financial information including 10Ks and annual reports. Legal section includes articles, case law, codes and regulations, international case law, patents, and directories of lawyers and law schools.More»
National Journal - Dates: Varies
News, data and analysis on U.S. Congressional members and legislation. See "my publications" and "columns" for specific content.
Includes Hotline, National Journal Daily, Almanac of American Politics, National Journal Magazine, Daybook, and Cook Report.More»
OECD iLibrary - Dates: 1983-current
Offers access to the full range of OECD statistical publications; coverage is global. Formerly known as SourceOECD.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Political Science - Dates: Varies - currrent
Essays covering core topics in political science, authored by leading scholars in the field.
PolicyFile - Dates: 1990 - current
Research publications from U.S. and international think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers
Includes demographic, business and census data with abstracts and updated weekly. Profile provides users with web links to contributing organization's home page, email address, scholar biographies and full text. More»
Polling the Nations - Dates: 1986 - current
U.S. and international polling results of multidisciplinary interest. Previously called American Public Opinion Index.
Access limited to one user at a time.
ProQuest Congressional - Via ProQuest - Dates: Varies
Pending legislation, U.S. laws, testimony before Congress and other Congressional documents.
Also includes full text of the Congressional Record, legislative histories, committee information, member biographies, legislative news, the U.S. code, court decisions and the Congressional Information Service (CIS) index.More»
ProQuest Historical Newspapers - Via ProQuest - Dates: Varies
Full text - articles, ads, pictures - of New York Times (1851 - 2007) & other major papers. Click "More" link for their names.
Atlanta Constitution (1868 - 1945, Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
Boston Globe (1872 - 1927)
Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1987)
Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 1997)
Irish Times (1859 - 2007)
Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1987)
New York Times (1851 - 2007) Some issues for 1953, 1962-1963, 1965, 1978 were never published due to pressman's strikes. No Sunday issue was published until April 21, 1861.
Wall Street Journal (1889 - 1993)
Washington Post (1877 - 1994) More»
ProQuest Research, Newspapers & Business - Dates: Varies
Identifies articles in journals, magazines and newspapers, many full text. Includes ABI/Inform, Ethnic NewsWatch,GenderWatch
and Alt-Press Watch.More»
ProQuest Statistical DataSets - Via ProQuest - Dates: Varies
Interactive interface to frequently requested data; easy way to create customized data sets and output charts, tables, and graphs.
Datasets is currently only working with Internet Explorer browser. Please use IE for this database.
RAND - Dates: Varies
Reports, journals and books on national security, business, education, health, law and science from the nonprofit RAND Corp.
RAND publications can also be found in Voyager Catalog and PolicyFile. Rand Corporate provides PDF links when free ebooks are available. No special software is required to download ebooks.More»
Roper Center for Public Opinion - Catalog - Dates: 1935-current
Public opinion datasets. Studies marked with an X are available for immediate download.
Roper Center for Public Opinion - iPOLL - Dates: 1935-current
Survey results, questionnaires, and possible dataset download option for an extensive collection of public opinion polls.
Social Sciences Citation Index - Via ISI Web of Science - Dates: 1900 - current
Identifies journal articles and cited references in all social science disciplines, many with links to full text.
Social Sciences Full Text - Via EBSCO - Dates: 1983 - current
Identifies articles in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, politics and law, many with links to full text.
Abstracts included from 1994-current; full text for many articles from 1994-current.More»
Thomas - Dates: Current
Congressional bills, U.S. laws, the Congressional record, committee reports, roll call votes, and U.S. government information.
WestlawNext Patron Access - Dates: Varies
Indexes legal materials with partial or full text of cases, dockets, laws, regulations, and corpus juris secundum.
After opening Westlaw, go to "Tools" then "My Content" to see a detailed list of materials included. Contact email@example.com to request content that is not currently available.More»
Access limited to one user at a time.
World Development Indicators (WDI) Online - Dates: 1960 - current
Downloadable time series data for over 200 countries. Includes demographic, socioeconomic, market and environmental data.
World News Connection - Dates: 1995-current
English translations of news from thousands of non-U.S. media sources. Also known as the Foreign Broadcast Information Service.