Key: Recommended Database
American Theological Library Association (ATLA) Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 - Via EBSCO - Dates: 13th century-1893
Full-text historical books on religion and theology, 13th century-1893.
American Theological Library Association (ATLA) Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2 - Via EBSCO - Dates: 1894-1923
Full-text historical books on religion and theology, 1894-1923.
ATLA Religion - Via EBSCO - Dates: 1949-present
Articles on all aspects of religion. Some full-text.
Cambridge Companions Online - Dates: Varies
Full-text collections of high quality, introductory essays covering a wide range of disciplines.
Covers the disciplines of literature, classics, economics, philosophy, religion and culture, etc.More»
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index - Via EBSCO - Dates: 1981-present
Identifies articles on all aspects of Catholic faith and lifestyle.
Index to Jewish Periodicals - Via EBSCO - Dates: 1988-present
Identifies articles on Jewish history, activity, and thought.
JSTOR - Dates: Varies by title from 1800s - 2000s
Full text articles in many disciplines.
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XII. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.collections, however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway. More»
New Testament Abstracts - Dates: Current
Abstracts of articles and books on the New Testament and its historical context.
Old Testament Abstracts - Dates: Varies
Abstracts of articles and books on the Old Testament and its historical context.
Oxford Bibliographies Online--Biblical Studies Segment - Dates: Varies
Recommendations on essential topics concerning the study of the Bible.
Oxford Scholarship Online - Religion Segment - Dates: Varies
Searchable full-text database of 400+ books in religion and theology.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full-Text - Via ProQuest - Dates: 1861 - current
Identifies Ph.D. dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities since 1861. Abstracts from 1980. Many with full-text.
RAMBI Index of Articles on Jewish Studies - Dates: 1966 - current
Identifies articles on Jewish Studies, Judaica, and study of Eretz Israel.
Requires Microsoft Internet Explorer browser, version 5.0 or higher
America: History and Life - Dates: 1964 - current
Identifies articles, book/media reviews, dissertations on U.S. & Canadian history, many linked to JSTOR or other full-text formats
Arts & Humanities Citation Index - Via ISI Web of Science - Dates: 1975 - current
Identifies articles and cited references in selected arts and humanities journals.
Bible in English - Dates: Varies
Complete English texts of 20 versions of the Bible.
In addition to the twelve complete Bibles, there are five New Testament works, two Gospel works and William Tyndale's New Testament, Pentateuch and Jonah translations. This adds up to 20 versions of the Bible. More»
Historical Abstracts - Dates: 1967 - current
Identifies articles and books on history since 1450, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Some links to full text.
Humanities Full Text - Via EBSCO - Dates: 1984 - current
Identifies articles on art, architecture, folklore, myth, film, journalism, music and religion. Many with links to full text.
ISI Citation Databases - Dates: 1898 - current
Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from all disciplines, some with links to full text.
Comprised of three databases that can be searched separately or in combination: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-current), Science Citation Index Expanded (1973-current), Social Sciences Citation Index (1973-current).More»
Patrologia Latina - Dates: 100 - 1299
Full texts of the Old Church Fathers.
Project Muse - Dates: 1993 - current
Full text of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.