Film Research
Office Hours:
By Appointment
|
New York Times Film Reviews- Search Proquest Historical Newspapers online to find the full text of reviews from 1857- 2007. More current reviews, 1980 - current, are found in Proquest National Newspapers.
Video Librarian- full text reviews from 1986 - present (just click logon and you'll be able to search the database from campus and login to ezproxy to see the reviews from off-campus using your netid and password)
Proquest Research- includes Time, Newseek, New York Times Magazine, Vanity Fair, People, Us Weekly, Entertainment Weekly and many other popular magazines with film reviews.
Rotten Tomatoes- has links to popular reviews.
| ||
To Determine Release Date, Director or Credits for a Specific Film |
Internet Movie Database http://www.imdb.com
Guide to American Cinema, 1930 - 1965 (Multimedia Reference PN 1993.5 U6W46 1998)
Guide to American Cinema, 1965 - 1995 (Multimedia Reference PN 1993.5 U6C87 1998)
Guide to World Cinema (Multimedia Reference PN 1995 .G84 1985)
Halliwell's Film, Video and DVD Guide 2008 (Multimedia Reference PN1993.45 H27 2007)
Motion Picture Guide (Rhees Stacks PN 1995 .N346 1987)
Award Winning Films (Rhees Stacks PN 1993.9 .M68 1994) |
New York Times- full text via Proquest from 1851-2003
New York Times- full text via Proquest from 1999- present
Variety Film Reviews (Multimedia Reference PN 1995 .U34)
Selected Film Criticism 1886-1960 (Multimedia Reference PN 1995 .S426)
Film Review Annual, 1981 - (Multimedia Reference PN 1995 .F463)
Motion Picture Guide (Multimedia Reference PN 1995 .N346)
American Film Institute Catalog, 1911-20;1921-30;1931-1940; 1961-70 (Multimedia Reference PN 1998 A5Ia)
The A list : the National Society of Film Critics’ 100 essential films (Multimedia Reference PN 1995 .A33 2002) |
Search the Voyager library catalog to locate film books in the library. The film books are located on the B level of Rush Rhees Stacks in the call number range PN 1992 - PN 1998. The main subject heading is "motion pictures".
You can also search names of directors, actors, or the titles of films as subjects. You can combine terms in a Boolean search, e.g.: "motion pictures and France"; "motion pictures and literature", "vampire films," "film noir," and "feminism and motion pictures." (Books about the technical aspects of film making are found under the term "cinematography.")
Film Book Bibliography 1940-1975, Somewhat dated, but still useful. (Rhees Stacks PN 1993 .E44) |
Online Scholarly Journals- Peer Reviewed Scope: a fully peer-reviewed online journal edited by staff and students in the Institute of Film & Television Studies at the University of Nottingham. http://www.scope.nottingham.ac.uk/
Film-Philosophy: an international academic journal dedicated to philosophically reviewing film studies, philosophical aesthetics, and world cinema. http://www.film-philosophy.com
FlowTV : a critical forum on television and media culture published by the Department of Radio, Television, and Film at the University of Texas at Austin. http://flowtv.org/
World Picture: an online journal of cultural theory and the moving image http://www.worldpicturejournal.com/ Refractory: a Journal of Entertainment Media: a refereed, peer-reviewed, e-journal published by the Cinema Studies Program, School of Culture and Communication, University of Melbourne. http://blogs.arts.unimelb.edu.au/refractory/
Culture Machine: an international open-access journal of culture and theory, founded in 1999. Its aim is to be to cultural studies and cultural theory what 'fundamental research' is to the natural sciences: open-ended, non-goal orientated, exploratory and experimental. All contributions to the journal are peer-reviewed. http://www.culturemachine.net
P.O.V.: A Danish Journal of Film Studies: Online peer-reviewed journal published by the Department of Information and Media Science at Aarhus University. http://pov.imv.au.dk/
Screening the Past: an international, refereed, electronic journal of film history. Published with the support of La Trobe University and the Cinema Studies Program in the School of Communications, Arts and Critical Enquiry. http://www.latrobe.edu.au/screeningthepast/
Rouge: scholarly online film journal http://www.rouge.com.au
Online Journals Mediascape- UCLA’s Journal of Cinema and Media Studies http://www.tft.ucla.edu/mediascape/AboutUs.html
Film Journal: The Film Journal is a Central Ohio-based, independently produced, online film publication http://www.thefilmjournal.com
Jump Cut: A Review of Contemporary Media is committed to presenting and developing media criticism which recognizes: (1) media in a social and political context; (2) the political and social needs and perspectives of people struggling for liberation--workers, women, Blacks and other oppressed minorities, Third World people, gays and lesbians; (3) the interrelationship of class, race, and gender oppression; (4) new theoretical and analytic perspectives. http://www.ejumpcut.org
Images: A website which publishes a quarterly online scholarly film journal and weekly film reviews. http://www.imagesjournal.com/features.htm
Filmmaker: the Magazine of Independent Film. Free subscription with online registration. http://www.filmmakermagazine.com
Synoptique: The Journal of Film and Film Studies: Online scholarly film journal founded in 2004 by Grad Students at Concordia University in Montreal. http://www.synoptique.ca
Senses of Cinema is an online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema. We believe cinema is an art that can take many forms, from the industrially-produced blockbuster to the hand-crafted experimental work; we also aim to encourage awareness of the histories of such diverse forms. As an Australian-based journal, we have a special commitment to the regular, wide-ranging analysis and critique of Australian cinema, past and present. http://www.sensesofcinema.com
Reverse Shot is a quarterly, independently published film journal. http://www.reverseshot.com |
Women Film Directors; an international bio-critical dictionary (Multimedia Reference PN1998.2 .F67 1995) World Film Directors (Multimedia Reference PN 1998.2 .W67 1987, 2 vols.) International Directory of Films and Filmmakers (Multimedia Reference PN 1997.8 .I58 1997)
Cinema: a Critical Dictionary (Multimedia Reference PN 1993.45 .C5, 2 vols.)
American Directors (Multimedia Reference PN 1998 .A28 C657 1983, 2 vols.) Additional suggestions: check Voyager using the director's name as a subject. The series "Reference Publication in Film" is an excellent series of monographs covering 43 major directors from Aldrich to Wyler. It is shelved in Rhees Stacks PN 1998 .A3. For additional articles about directors, consult Film Literature Index. |
Complete Film Dictionary (Multimedia Reference PN 1993.45 K66 1997)
Dictionary of Film Terms (Multimedia Reference TR 847 .B43 1994)
Facts on File Dictionary of Film and Broadcast Terms (Multimedia Reference P87.5.P43 1991) |
To Compile a List of Films About a Specific Subject, Theme or Genre |
The Movie List Book: a Reference Guide to Film Themes, Settings, and Series (Multimedia Reference PN 1997.8.A76 1990)
American Film Institute Catalog, 1911-20;1921-30; 1931-1940; 1961-70 (Multimedia Reference PN 1998 A5Ia)
Halliwell's Filmgoer's Companion (Multimedia Reference PN 1993.45 .H3 1997)
The Motion Picture Guide (Multimedia Reference PN 1995 .N346) indexes films by genre
Additional suggestions:
Search Find DVDs and Videos for a quick search of Multimedia Center videos and DVDs by genre.
Search Voyager for books about a specific theme or subject, e.g.: "machismo in motion pictures;" "police films," "psychiatry in motion pictures," "minorities in motion pictures" etc. |
To Find Out About Undergraduate and Graduate Film Study Programs |
Film School Confidential: the insider's guide to film schools (Multimedia Reference PN1993.8.U5 K46 2007 ) |
The Numbers: Box office data on over 10,000 films (http://the-numbers.com/)
Film Facts (PN 1993.45 .S75)
International Motion Picture Almanac (REF COMPENDIA PN 1993.3 .I61 1998)
World Almanac and Book of Facts (REF COMPENDIA AY 67 W927) |
A Short Guide to Writing About Film (Rhees PN 1995 .C66 2004)
Studying contemporary American film : a guide to movie analysis (Rhees PN1995 .E59 2002)
The McGraw-Hill film viewer's guide (Rhees PN1995 .B617 2003 Suppl.)
Writing About Literature and Film (Rhees PN 83 .B79) |
IMDB The Internet Movie Database
MRQE (Movie Review Query Engine) 200,000+ reviews.
AFI Film The American Film Institute site.
All-Movie Guide General film info, reviews, plot finder, etc.
Future Movies UK British movie reviews and general website
MOVIEWEB Searchable categories of films for general info.
Cross-Cultural Film Guide: Films from Africa, Asia and Latin America at the American University.
ScreenSite List of web-based film and TV resources.
Docuseek Film and Video Finder Search 8 independent film distributors for documentary films. |






