Helen Ann Mins Robbins Fellowship in Medieval Studies

The Rossell Hope Robbins Library at the University of Rochester is pleased to invite applications for the Helen Ann Robbins Fellowship in Medieval Studies. The fellowship was endowed by Helen Ann Mins and Rossell Hope Robbins to provide a period of research at the Rossell Hope Robbins Library for a woman completing a dissertation project in medieval studies. It is open to qualified applicants in all fields of medieval studies. Past fellows have worked on animal studies, manuscript studies and reading practices, translation and textual transmission, medieval clothing, Jews in medieval England, the Arthurian legend, courtesy books and manners, female advice figures, and more.

The recipient must be in residence in Rochester and making use of the Robbins Library for the academic year (up to twelve months). She must provide for her own living and travel expenses from the award, and provide her own health insurance. She is expected to engage in the academic life of the University. Toward the end of her residency, she will give a lecture on her research.

The Robbins Library has outstanding holdings across medieval studies, with particular strengths in manuscript studies, the history of the book, high and late medieval history, literary studies, and medievalism. In alignment with the University of Rochester's Early Worlds Initiative, our focus is on building and maintaining a global medieval studies collection. We sponsor and support a wide range of scholarly projects: the Middle English Text Series, the Camelot Project, and other digital projects. Together, the Robbins Library and the Department of Rare Books, Special Collections, and Preservation boast a growing collection of medieval and early modern manuscripts and print. The Sibley Library at the Eastman School of Music maintains an excellent manuscript collection, and the Miner Library offers an outstanding special collection dedicated to the history of medicine (beginning with the early modern period).

The University of Rochester boasts a vibrant community of medievalists and early modernists across disciplines and departments, including History, English, Art History, Music, and Religion and Classics, alongside a variety of working and reading groups, lectures, workshops, and other events. Rochester offers numerous resources and opportunities for interdisciplinary collaboration and research, including the Digital Scholarship Lab, the Lazarus ProjectEastman School of Music, the Memorial Art Gallery, the Cary Graphic Arts Collection at RIT, R-CHIVE, and the Central New York Humanities Corridor, to name only a few.

Eligibility: The Fellow must be an advanced graduate student (ABD) in good standing, who is engaged full-time in researching and writing the dissertation. She should have no more than one full year of dissertation work remaining at the start of the fellowship year.

Stipend: $24,000

Applications for the 2022-2023 Fellow will open in Fall 2021.

Application Procedure: Applicants should submit in one PDF the following: a cover sheet including the information below, a current CV, and a project proposal of 750-1000 words describing their dissertation and the appropriateness of the Robbins Library to the project. Please send the application to the library director, Anna Siebach-Larsen <alarsen@library.rochester.edu>, and arrange for two letters of recommendation to be sent to the same by December 1.

Institutional Affiliation:
Phone No.:
Email address:
Dissertation Title:
Dissertation Director:
Expected date of completion of dissertation:
Names of Recommenders:
Desired period of residence in Rochester - Arrival (mo./yr.); Departure (mo./yr.)

Helen Ann Mins Robbins Fellows:

2020-2021 Margaret Sheble (Purdue University)
​​​​​​​2018-2019  Julie K. Chamberlin (Indiana University, Bloomington)
2016-2017  Marjorie Harrington  (University of Notre Dame)
2014-2015  Lindsay Irvin  (University of Toronto)
2012-2013  Cynthia Rogers  (Indiana University, Bloomington)
2010-2011  Jess Fenn  (Columbia University)
2008-2009  Andrea Lankin  (University of California, Berkeley)
2006-2007  Misty Schieberle  (University of Notre Dame)
2004-2005  Cathryn Meyer  (University of Texas, Austin)
2002-2003  Juliet Sloger  (University of Rochester)
2000-2001  Miriamne Krummel  (Lehigh University)
1999-2000  Nicole Dentzien  (Christian-Albrechts University of Kiel)
1997-1998  Suzanne Craymer  (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill)